It is an easy 10 minute walk into Glyn Ceiriog (our local town). Here you will find two Pubs serving a range of Food and Drink. There are also a Spar with cash facilities, Post Office, Pharmacy and a branch Surgery. Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog is 4 miles from the park and offers two pubs with great food. This is also a great starting point for lots of fantastic walks.
The stunning Llangollen Canal winds its way through beautiful Welsh hills and over the spectacular Dee Valley. It is a very popular destination for both boaters and sightseers.
This location boasts two fantastic locations – Llangollen Wharf in Llangollen town and the Horseshoe Falls on the towpath where the canal meets the river Dee. Both attractions are part of the UNESCO World Heritage site encompassing Pontcysylte Aqueduct and Chirk.
Castell Dinas Brân is a medieval castle. It sits on the top of a hill overlooking the town of Llangollen. Dinas Brân is one of several hill forts in this part of the country.
You can get to the castle several ways. From Llangollen a path originates at Canal Bridge and travells alongside Ysgol Dinas Brân. It gradually rises before reaching the lower slopes of the hill. A zigzag path then climbs to the summit. The other access is from ‘Offa’s Dyke Path‘ on the north western side of the hill.
Pontcysyllte Aqueduct and canal envelopes a collection of amazing British Engineering feats that were accomplished during the British Industrial Revolution. The canal carried water borne transport from the English lowlands into the rugged terrain of the North Wales Hills, using new techniques to cross two major river valleys and the ridge between them.
It was built between 1795 and 1808 by Thomas Telford and William Jessop. Through their dynamic partnership the canal became a testing ground for new ideas that became engineering practice throughout the rest of the world. It was named a World Heritage Site in 2009. To be named on the World Heritage List, sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet specified criteria.
The existing bridge structure was started in the 16th century but records suggest that a crossing point may have been since the late 1200’s. This seems to coincide with the formation of the Valle Crucis Abbey.
The present structure is usually attributed to John Trefor (Bishop of St Asaph 1346-1357) and is considered of the Seven Wonders of Wales. In 1863 plans were made for a new railway station which required lengthening the bridge at the North end to go over the railway line.
Plas Newydd is famous for being the home of two Irish ladies, Lady Eleanor Butler and Miss Sarah Ponsonby who eloped and set up home in the late 1800’s. This was considered by most to be quite scandalous. Plas Newydd was enlarged enlarged over time and includes many Gothic features. Eventually the ladies and their unusual lifestyle gradually became accepted, and their home was visited by many famous people including The Duke of Wellington, Sir Walter Scott, William Wordsworth and many others the gardens, also, have many Gothic features such as a “ruined” archway, rustic bridges over rushing torrents and a temple.
The British Ironwork Centre is home to an array of sculptures and exhibits. It is the UK’s largest metal safari park with over 100 sculptures on display. There is also a collection of art all exhibited throughout the 90-acre grounds. The Knife Angel is made from over 100,000 knives and weapons taken from the UK streets as part of the national monument and current campaign ‘Save a Life, Surrender your Knife,.’
Eat and dine in the Forge Café. The café is open daily, serving a wide selection of food and beverages. Enjoy two fabulous indoor showrooms, with quirky homeware furnishings, interesting cookware, ironmongery, fine jewellery, and everlasting flower sculptures. Hire ar golf buggies to travel around the safari tour 1.6km route, or go healthy with bike hire. Let the Kids indulge in a range of Summer activities. Great Family Fun.
Valle Crucis Abbey (Valley of the Cross) is a Cistercian Abbey. It was built in 1201. Valle Crucis was dissolved in 1537 during the Dissolution of the Monasteries, and subsequently fell into serious disrepair. The building is now a ruin, though large parts of the original structure still survive.
Founded on the site of a temporary wooden church it is the last Cistercian monastery to be built in Wales. Valle Crucis was the spiritual centre of the region. century earlier. The location was raised was originally established as a colony of twelve monks. The completed abbey is believed to have housed up to about sixty brethren. The monks and the abbey itself came under threat from various political and religious events.
The Llangollen Motor Museum is just over a mile from Llangollen. It can be reached by car or a nice stroll along the Llangollen Canal. The museum boasts a lovely Triumph TR4, a Sinclair C5 and possibly the oldest touring caravan in the UK. With a collection of more than 60 vehicles there are invalid carriages, pedal cars (including an Austin J40 pedal car and also an Austin Pathfinder). There are also a Model T Ford and a Vauxhall 14/40.
The musuem also has a fantastic collection of British motor cycles and old petrol pumps etc. This is a lovely informal museum that really transports you back in time and is well worth a visit.
This route dates from 1811, when a road was constructed across the area. As with the rest of the roads in the Clwydian Range, it is not uncommon for sheep to gather in the road, sometimes causing problems for drivers. The road is also frequently closed in winter due to snowfall or landslides.
The Pass is well known for the Ponderosa cafe at its highest point and the scenic views along the road. Both the cafe and the pass itself are extremely popular with cyclists & motorcyclists. There are many walks and routes in the immediate area that are popular with hikers, and there are a number of campsites nearby.
Tŷ Mawr Country Park lies on the banks of the River Dee in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The country park has a fun farm in a magestic setting beneath the Cefn Viaduct. There are lots of animals you can see up-close at Tŷ Mawr such as pigs, donkeys and goats. You can even feed the chickens and ducks or admire the Llamas, who guard our sheep from foxes!
They have many species of wild plants and animals and in the summer the traditional hay meadows are full of colour. Take a gentle stroll down to the river, relax and see if you can spot a salmon jumping.
Chirk Castle is an old marcher fortress, with commanding views over the surrounding area. It was built by Roger Mortimer, Justice of North Wales, for Edward 1. The castle was sold to Sir Thomas Myddelton in 1595 and his descendants continue to live in part of the castle today. The magnificent iron gates are dated 1719 and bear the coat-of-arms of the Myddelton family. They were crafted by the Davies Brothers of Croesfoel Forge, near Wrexham and were erected between 1719 and 1721.
The gates are magnificent in their size and detail and their impressive splendour is somewhat out of kilter with the beautiful parkland. This is explained, however, when one appreciates that they were developed as forecourt gates to the Castle where they were read against its foreboding frontal towers. The Castle enjoys a fantastic family history and is well worth a visit.
The building is one of the finest Stately Homes in the land. Prior to his death in 1773 John Meller refurbished and enlarged the house including adding two wings. On his death in 1733, unmarried and childless, he passed it to his nephew, Simon Yorke. The house was passed down through the Yorke family until March 1973, when given to the National Trust. 63 acres (25 ha) of Erddig Park (out of view of the house) was sold for £995,000 and this paid for the restoration work on the house.
A tour of the house tells of the Yorke family’s care for their servants and provides a record of the people who lived and worked on the estate. In the stateroomsan impressive collection of 18th century furniture and other collectables. The family have built up some fascinating collections from the rare to the mundane. Erddig’s walled garden contains rare trees, a canal and a pond. This is a must-see place.
Llangollen Museum has a large collection of documents, photographs and artefacts. The Museum also has a considerable number of programmes and events running to help improve peoples’ knowledge of the deep history of Llangollen and the surrounding countryside and towns. Call or mail us for details of our current and upcoming programmes.
At Park Hall Countryside Experience, there is so much choice for for young children. In addition to the Outdoor and Indoor play areas there are Electric Cars and World War Trenches.
In addition to the range of lovely animals, there is also an activity every 30 minutes. Daily activities include meet the small animals, pony grooming, meet the horses, tractor rides, pig racing, barrel train, cow milking, lamb feeding and many others.
Chirk Aqueduct is part of the Llangollen Canal Heritage site which stretches from Chirk to Llangollen. The length of the canal through Chirk Bank to Gledrid Bridge is also an Historic England structure.
Great for family outings and one of the few places to see truly awesome canal architecture, a section also straddles the border between England and Wales. The aqueduct is 700 foot long and carries the canal approximately 70 feet above the River. Tel : 01691 718681
Tel : 01691 718681 –
Email : email@example.com