Not far from Ceiriog Valley Park Plas Newydd is famous for being the home of two Irish ladies, Lady Eleanor Butler and Miss Sarah Ponsonby who eloped and set up home in the late 1800’s. This was considered by most to be quite scandalous. Plas Newydd was enlarged enlarged over time and includes many Gothic features. Eventually the ladies and their unusual lifestyle gradually became accepted, and their home was visited by many famous people including The Duke of Wellington, Sir Walter Scott, William Wordsworth and many others the gardens, also, have many Gothic features such as a “ruined” archway, rustic bridges over rushing torrents and a temple.
This quaint pub in Llanarmon D. C. which is only 4 miles from Ceiriog Valley Park offers great food and a good selection of wines, beers and soft drinks. Sunday Lunches are particularly popular with both visitors and locals. Food is served every day of the year between 12:00-2:30 at lunchtimes and 6:00-8:30 in the evenings. You can choose to dine in the dining room or the bar area where a roaring fire awaits you in the cold weather.
Dogs are welcome in the bar dining area and dog walkers from the many local paths take full advantage of the opportunity for a break. They cater for functions and parties. The pub has some fine rooms and accommodation is also available at The West Arms and Ceriog Valley Park.
The Llangollen Motor Museum is just over a mile from Llangollen (approximately 6 miles from Ceiriog Valley Park). It can be reached by car or a nice stroll along the Llangollen Canal. The museum boasts a lovely Triumph TR4, a Sinclair C5 and possibly the oldest touring caravan in the UK. With a collection of more than 60 vehicles there are invalid carriages, pedal cars (including an Austin J40 pedal car and also an Austin Pathfinder). There are also a Model T Ford and a Vauxhall 14/40.
The musuem also has a fantastic collection of British motor cycles and old petrol pumps etc. This is a lovely informal museum that really transports you back in time and is well worth a visit.
Courtesy Wikipedia Commons
Valle Crucis Abbey (Valley of the Cross) is a Cistercian Abbey near Ceiriog Valley Park. It was built in 1201. Valle Crucis was dissolved in 1537 during the Dissolution of the Monasteries, and subsequently fell into serious disrepair. The building is now a ruin, though large parts of the original structure still survive. Founded on the site of a temporary wooden church it is the last Cistercian monastery to be built in Wales. Valle Crucis was the spiritual centre of the region. century earlier. The location was raised was originally established as a colony of twelve monks. The completed abbey is believed to have housed up to about sixty brethren. The monks and the abbey itself came under threat from various political and religious events.
The British Ironwork Centre is home to an array of sculptures and exhibits. It is the UK’s largest metal safari park with over 100 sculptures on display. There is also a collection of art all exhibited throughout the 90-acre grounds. The Knife Angel is made from over 100,000 knives and weapons taken from the UK streets as part of the national monument and current campaign ‘Save a Life, Surrender your Knife,.’
Eat, drink and dine in the Forge Café. The café is open daily, serving a wide selection of food and beverages. Enjoy two fabulous indoor showrooms, with quirky homeware furnishings, interesting cookware, ironmongery, fine jewellery, and everlasting flower sculptures. Hire ar golf buggies to travel around the safari tour 1.6km route, or go healthy with bike hire. Let the Kids indulge in a range of Summer activities. Great Family Fun.
The existing bridge structure was started in the 16th century but records suggest that a crossing point may have been since the late 1200’s. This seems to coincide with the formation of the Valle Crucis Abbey.
The present structure is usually attributed to John Trefor (Bishop of St Asaph
1346-1357) and is considered of the Seven Wonders of Wales. In 1863 plans were made for a new railway station which required lengthening the bridge at the North end to go over the railway line.
Pontcysyllte Aqueduct and canal envelopes a collection of amazing British Engineering feats that were accomplished during the British Industrial Revolution. The canal carried water borne transport from the English lowlands into the rugged terrain of the North Wales Hills, using new techniques to cross two major river valleys and the ridge between them.
It was built between 1795 and 1808 by Thomas Telford and William Jessop. Through their dynamic partnership the canal became a testing ground for new ideas that became engineering practice throughout the rest of the world. It was named a World Heritage Site in 2009. To be named on the World Heritage List, sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet specified criteria.
You can get to the castle several ways. From Llangollen a path originates at Canal Bridge and travells alongside Ysgol Dinas Brân. It gradually rises before reaching the lower slopes of the hill. A zigzag path then climbs to the summit. The other access is from ‘Offa’s Dyke Path‘ on the north western side of the hill.
Llangollen Canal 3.3 miles
The stunning Llangollen Canal winds its way through beautiful Welsh hills and over the spectacular Dee Valley. It is a very popular destination for both boaters and sightseers.
This location boasts two fantastic locations – Llangollen Wharf in Llangollen town and the Horseshoe Falls on the towpath where the canal meets the river Dee. Both attractions are part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site encompassing Pontcysylte Aqueduct and Chirk.